A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

wpid-img_20150605_122446.jpgAfter finishing the Throne of Glass books by Sarah J Maas I was so excited when I saw this books was coming out. Not as excited as I am for Queen of Shadows, but still really excited. After much anticipation and a surprisingly difficult time getting my hands on a copy I finally bought a signed edition in London last week. It didn’t take long for me to read it cover to cover and I really enjoyed it.

Where Throne of Glass draws some inspiration from Cinderella, A Court of Thorns and Roses uses elements of Beauty and the Beast.

It’s subtle enough and different enough though that I often only noticed as an afterthought that various things were somewhat parallel. Feyre is very different from Belle. She’s a hunter and a survivor and without her her father and two sisters she would not survive. But it’s a beauty and the beast love story, only in this version the beast is fae, and the curse is a mask that he cannot remove.

It’s a good read but I didn’t find it at all as compelling as Throne of Glass. I feel it’s a bit unfair to keep comparing the two but it can’t be helped! I also think it was less obvious that Throne of Glass had any connection to Cinderella at all. I think from memory that Beauty and the Beast is cited on the books blurb. In some ways that made it even more disappointing that I didn’t absolutely love it because Beauty and the Beast was always my favourite of the fairy tales – maybe because Belle was the only brunette Disney Princess and because she liked books – but also because I loved the story (and not just the Disney version!).

The thing that annoyed me the most about ACOTAR was Feyre’s constant reference to whether she’d be able to paint something and capture it in art – I like that she was into art and appreciated beautiful things but it was over used as her reaction to things in the fairy realm. I also didn’t find her relationship development with the ‘beast’ particularly compelling.

I did really enjoy reading the story and I liked the encounters with magical creatures and the new revelations of curses and all those very mythical elements. There are some lovely vivid scenes that I can still picture really clearly even now a couple of weeks after finishing it. So even if it’s not a masterpiece of fantasy fiction it is certainly a fun read to lose yourself in for a bit. My rating is 3/5 but I’m really curious what other people have thought! If you’ve read A Court of Thorns and Roses did you enjoy it? What were your expectations before you read it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

