Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

20151018_213811This has been my most anticipated read of this year. If you’ve already read my review of the first book in the series, Throne of Glass, then you’ll know that this is one of my favourite series in a long time! It’s fantasy with fairy tale inspirations; but the depth and complexity of a political drama. There’s a neat balance of action and adventure with romance.

I don’t think there is a single part of the story that I’m bored by. You know how in some fantasy novels with multiple perspectives the author really seems to punish you with boring but important chapters before rewarding you with the good stuff? (I’m looking at you George R. R. Martin!) Well, I haven’t had that even once in this whole series. And I think that says something about the genius of Sarah J Maas.

With every book in the series I fall more in love with Maas’ writing and honestly, this most recent one was on point. I love the new characters and the new story lines that are woven in, continuing from their introductions in Heir of Fire. Manon is fantastic. I love the witches and the ever complex political intrigues. I love Aelin! I am constantly in anticipation for what she will get up to next, and when she and Manon cross paths – it’s phenomenal. Seriously.

So, if you haven’t already read this series, stop reading this here and open a new tab for amazon or The Book Depository or even your library website, and get yourself the first book. Or all of the books.

If you have already read the series, then you are allowed to continue reading. Spoilers ahead!

One of the things that I liked best in this book was Manon’s character development. I’m really fascinated by that whole story and the way she is so torn between her duty and the ruthlessness that she prides herself on, and her sense of justice and humanity. She’s almost becoming more of a favourite than Celaena! Or should I say, Aelin,

Something I am not entirely sure I like is the weird fae relationship that Aelin and Rowan have with all the biting and scratching and scenting each other. It’s definitely making the point that they aren’t human, but I’m still not that into it. I get the whole idea of being able to smell if she has a mate and all that, but that’s as far as it went for me! I don’t know who I want her to end up with, but I feel like at the moment it’s going to be Rowan. It’s weird that she’s been with almost every male lead in the novel! I liked her relationship with Chaol best out of all of them I think. Or maybe Dorian. Rowan is still growing on me. Who does everyone else think she should end up with? And don’t say Sam because we all know that’s not going to happen.

I think the ending of Queen of Shadows¬†is quite interesting – it follows the pattern of a lot of TV shows where the villain is only the villain until his boss is revealed and then in comparison he’s an alright guy. But in this instance, I think it does make sense. I almost need to reread it because it all comes about so fast right at the end!

Anyway, as usual I am super excited for what the next book has in store! What did everyone else think of QOS? Was it everything you dreamed?

My Rating is a sweet 5/5 because I’ve just completely passed the point of being objective about these books! I just love em.

 

 

Leave a Reply

